Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I was recently talking with a dear friend on the phone about my annoyance with constantly being accused of either being or thinking I’m perfect. There could be nothing farther from the truth, as I am my own worst critic. (I’ve written about this before.) I joked with her that “I’m not perfect, I’m just very organized.” She thought that was priceless.

I created a ‘graphic’ to post on Facebook that said, “I’m Not Perfect, I’m Organized”. The friend I’d been talking to that night loved it, said it was the ‘perfect descriptor’ for me.

Another friend posted, “I don’t procrastinate – I wait for excellence.” I had to think about that for a little bit. I responded with, “I don’t think you can ‘wait for excellence’, I think it’s something you have to strive for… sorry, don’t want to burst your bubble…he he he Crack that whip gf.” She came back with a final thought. ” no bubble bursting today – I wait for excellence – it shows up when it needs to – just like Karma.”

I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this, kind of like when you get a song lyric stuck in your head and it just keeps playing over and over, but you can’t quite put your finger on the song title. So I thought I would blog about it, try to get it out of my head.

The friend who is ‘waiting for excellence’ and I agree on some things, but for the most part, are polar opposites, so I’m sure if she sees this blog, she won’t be surprised that this ‘got stuck’ and I needed to ‘purge’ it.

When I was growing up I spent a lot of time with my Grandfather. He was an inspiration to me. He served in World War II and as a result was disabled later in his life. He was someone who was never sitting still, always doing something or involved in helping someone do something. He was my first introduction to “self-determination.”

He was a very demanding man. If he asked you to do something he expected you to do it. If he explained how he wanted something done, he expected you to do it the way he explained it. He would ask you what you wanted, then ask you what you were going to do to make it happen. One of the things he was fond of saying was that you “can’t rest on your laurels and expect things to change.”

I never knew what my ‘laurels’ were… so I once looked it up and what ‘resting on your laurels’ means is to be so satisfied with your past achievements that you don’t make any effort to improve.

I was always taught that if you want to achieve your goals you have to work hard to make them happen. Nothing ever ‘just happens’ and we never get anywhere if we don’t put one foot in front of the other. I was also taught that achievements had greater meaning if you worked hard for them, rather than coasting.

I hope that I’m modeling for my son that anything worth having is worth working for, that we can make our dreams come true if we’re willing to work hard. Things won’t always work out just the way we would like them to, but they don’t happen at all if we don’t work for them.

I’m busting my butt right now to make this Support Group come to fruition because I know if I sit on my butt and wait for it to happen, wait for someone else to do it, it’s not going to happen.

I believe in ‘karma’, I believe what we put out there into the universe comes back to us, I also believe that the success you achieve is equal to the effort you put into it.

So I guess this is another area where my friend and I will agree to disagree.

