Tags

, , , , , , ,

So much has been happening over the past couple of weeks.

Since the October meeting of my Support Group I’d hardly had any contact from my co-facilitator. Two nights ago, I found her online and decided to check to see if she and her family were doing okay. She’d told me there was some sort of ‘family’ issue going on previously, so I offered to ‘listen’ if she wanted to talk.

She explained to me that she was sorry for appearing to have ‘abandoned’ me, but she was afraid she just didn’t have the time and energy to devote to the group. She said she wasn’t sure she could attend the meeting in November.

That leaves me with only one other person helping with the group besides my husband and that person was clear at the beginning that she was unable to make a long-term commitment.

My group’s sponsor keeps telling me the group is so needed in this area, but we’re getting much more enthusiastic responses from human service providers and school districts in the community than we are from parents and in two months I have to start paying for the use of the church’s Parish Hall, so if I am looking at having to manage this group by myself I may very well have to make the decision to dissolve it.

During this same period of time my son has been struggling with his services. I asked for a meeting to discuss our concerns, after previously outlining our concerns with his ‘aide’. My son decided he didn’t trust his ‘aide’ and didn’t feel comfortable about working with her anymore. I asked for a new ‘aide’ to work with my son.

My son has been so stressed and frustrated. He perseverates on the issue of his ‘aide’, wondering if this person will call on time, show up on time, be where she says she’s going to be, etc. We are currently ‘up-in-the-air’ as to his services, therefore he isn’t receiving any.

I’m trying to determine what all our options are and what might be the best way to proceed.

On a somewhat more positive note, my best friend is going to be sharing Thanksgiving dinner with us this year, like she used to. We’re all looking forward to the holiday, my son and I already made the ‘stuffing balls’ for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner.

I have got to find some balance… I know that I can’t be all things to all people and I’m not a ‘super woman’.

