Tags

, , , , , ,

Since my last blog, my husband had his MRI and got the results the following morning. He does not have a tumor on or near his brain relative to his olfactory center. There appears to be no physical reason for the symptoms he’s experienced.

Our doctor suggested he stop all the supplements he’s been taking, to see if that has any effect on the symptoms. She also prescribed an allergy medication to be taken for a month, after which they will try an antibiotic if there is no improvement.

We are so relieved.

I had the ‘measurement’ appointment with the eye surgeon, to determine the size of the lens needed to replace my own when they remove the cataracts. I was extremely disappointed. It turned out the information filled in, in the packet they gave me for the surgery, was not all applicable to me.

The first thing I learned was that the basic surgery typically leaves the patient needing corrective lenses for all vision situations, distance, close up, etc. The surgeon had told me I’d need glasses for reading only, but all other vision should be corrected by the surgery. He said they’d remove the lens from my glasses when the right eye is done, because I won’t need it. That is in question now.

I also thought that he told us he’d be correcting the astigmatism, this was checked on my packet paperwork, but it turns out, basic lens surgery does not include astigmatism correction, one has to pay extra for that.

At the consultation, the woman that goes over everything with the patient, to prepare you for what to expect went into elaborate detail about anesthesia, telling me you could choose to have a local, be in ‘twilight’ or be put completely to sleep, which is what she chose because she was very nervous and stressed about having the surgery. I was told at this appointment that there is no choice given regarding anesthesia. Everyone is put into what they refer to as ‘twilight.’ Some people report seeing bright lights, some say they could hear everything, others say they had no memory of anything that happened. They said they do this because they want to minimize the amount of time it takes to come out of anesthesia, so your time in the office and recover is no more than 2 hours.

I will have to use an antibiotic eye drop in each eye for a week after each surgery and a steroid eye drop in both eyes for between 4-5 weeks. I’m not allowed to rub my eyes for 5 weeks after surgery. Before surgery, I must shower the night before and the morning of with Dial antibacterial soap, can use no powder, no deodorant, no make-up of any kind, can not eat or drink after midnight the night before surgery. In the morning I can only take my blood pressure medication, waiting to take the other medications when I get home, if the surgery is scheduled for early morning.

There’s a lot involved. There will be a follow up appointment the next day, after each surgery, with the surgeon.

The hope I had for not needing to wear glasses in the future is in question.

I’ve begun to have concerns regarding our back-up aide for my son. She’s not even started working yet and it appears she’s technically been reprimanded by the agency already. She’s asking a lot of questions that concern the Program Manager, not listening to the policy she’s being told, making contact with people in the agency she should not be. She asked me a lot of questions I tried to get answered for her, but she still insisted she was told something different and apparently knew better.

There was an incident with my son’s current aide today that I have to address tomorrow and the back-up aide is coming tomorrow afternoon to get the training/orientation she needs to get before she can begin one to one services with my son.

It seems like there’s always got to be some sort of drama, it’s almost daily anymore. I would love to experience a day without anxiety, stress, someone needing something from me, having a fire I need to put out.

I guess there’s always tomorrow to hope for.

